top of page




In 1909, a resolution was passed by the municipal council of San Francisco de Malabon making Sta .Cruz de Malabon a separate and independent town. This town became completely independent in 1910. In 1914, Atty Florentino Joya, a representative of the province of Cavite to the National Assembly, introduced and worked for the passage of a bill which eventually became Act No. 2390; by virtue of which renamed the town of Santa Cruz de Malabon to Tanza. The name TANZA, according to popular belief, may have originated from the word Santa; which means holy.

The historical roots of the town of Tanza can be traced to the municipality of what was then called San Francisco de Malabon, now the City of General Trias. A strip of land in San Francisco de Malabon, was an open land and was primarily devoted to grazing. The first known settlers were the Fabian brothers.

On August 29, 1780, a decree was passed forming a town of Estancia, to be comprised of the land bordering the Cañas River together with the adjacent land extending to the south of Ulilang kawayan and to the west up to Timalan and Kay Alamang River. The town was then officially named Sta. Cruz de Malabon. The name was derived from the Holy Cross which was then popularly venerated and considered the Patron of the inhabitants. The word Malabon was affixed to Sta. Cruz to indicate the early maternal relation of the town to San Francisco de Malabon.



Tanza had three major contributions to the growing Filipino nationalism in the Philippine Revolution Era. First and foremost, some Tanzenians part took in the Katipunan and the Revolution. Secondly, Gen Emilio Aguinaldo took oath as President of the First Philippine Republic on March 1897 at the convent of Sta Cruz de Malabon Church. Thirdly, Tanza is the birth town of Felipe G. Calderon who authored the Malolos Constitution, the law utilized by the First Philippine Republic in 1899.


Tanza which is now a first-class municipality, gained a distinguished spot in Philippine history. The officials of the Revolutionary Government elected in Tejeros Convention led by Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo, were sworn into office by Fr. Cenon Villafranca before a crucifix in the convent of Santa Cruz de Malabon, on the evening of March 22, 1897. The occasion marked the launching of the pattern of the First Philippine Republic. The most outstanding revolutionary figure from Tanza was Felipe G. Calderon, author of the Malolos Constitution, Katipunan General Guillermo Masangkay is said to have been born in Tanza, although he is equally claimed as a son of Bacoor, Cavite. Other prominent personalities of Tanza who have gained national recognition are; Former Senator Antero S. Soriano, former Representative Francisco T. Arca, former Representative Florentino Joya, former Senator and Representative Justiniano S. Montano, Sr. former Con-con delegate Atty. Jose P. Santillan, historian, Esteban A. de Ocampo, retired SC Justice Justo P. Torres and former NBI and DILG Secretary Epimaco A. Velasco. (Excerpt from Tanza: BAYANG SINILANGAN NG PAMAHALAANG REBOLUSYUNARYO NG PILIPINAS by Dr. Emmanuel F. Calairo)

bottom of page